Skip to content ↓


Functional Skills Information and Communication Technology (ICT) qualifications are designed to give learners the skills to operate confidently, effectively and independently in education, work and everyday life. They have been created in response to employers’ perceptions that many learners are not achieving a sufficiently firm grounding in the basics.

The ICT curriculum is broken down into 3 main aspects:

  • using ICT

  • finding and selecting information

  • developing, presenting and communicating information.


These aspects are covered using a range of recognised software as well as internet and cloud based activities. E-safety and ways of staying safe whilst using technology are also covered in order to prepare learners for life outside school.

Each Level is completed by an assessment. This is on screen and incorporates both internet and non internet tasks.